top of page

Transgender activist takes on Thai university in battle for LGBT rights


“Thais like to consume transgender people, but are far from accepting them as equal.”

We met in a park in one of the upcoming hipster areas of Bangkok – Banglamphu. She came in a bright white and blue striped dress and colorful accessories. Kath Khangpiboon is an extravagant person by style, an activist and academic by personality. She has hundreds of followers on social media and on the day we met she had just come out of two days civil society conference talks at the UN headquarters in Bangkok. The co-founder of Thai Transgender Alliance frequently campaigns and publicly speaks on gender issues in Thailand and is a well known figure in LGBT rights movements in Southeast Asia.

Kath has studied and taught at Thammasat University, one of the most liberal universities in Thailand and one that prides itself on being founded on democratic principles. After teaching as an external lecturer at the Faculty of Social Work, where she finished her Bachelor and Master’s degrees, Kath attempted to become a permanent member of the faculty. Her application was rejected based on “inappropriate” social media activity and statements. She immediately appealed the decision, saying the rejection amounted to gender discrimination and a crusade by the conservative elements at the university. Kath spoke to Asian Correspondent about her struggle.

What exactly happened at Thammasat University? Why was your application for lecturer rejected?

In my application, they singled out some of my posts on my private Instagram account, when I was a Bachelor student back in 2010. It was a photo from Halloween with a penis-shaped lipstick my friend brought for me from Japan, it was a joke and Halloween costume. They said this was inappropriate for a Thammasat lecturer. Normally the university doesn’t consider social media activity as criteria for lecturer applications. This was only my case. Basically this is the first time that social media activity was used as criteria in approving a Thammasat lecturer. The Thammasat Board Committee meeting decided to use this criteria. I passed everything else. I’m a graduate of this faculty, they approved and read all my articles and academic writing – local and international – I passed my interview and psychological tests. But I am confident I will win this case. My faculty and the dean support me, there are only a few people there who object to me becoming a lecturer. They are taking a long time on this case, in July it will be one year since the struggle started.

But you don’t think this is only about your social media posts? You feel this is about you being transgender and an activist?

Featured Articles
Recent Articles
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

© 2023 by Journalist. Proudly made by Wix.com

bottom of page